The Home of Sir Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thoughts on teaching Chaucer

2 posters

Go down

Thoughts on teaching Chaucer Empty Thoughts on teaching Chaucer

Post  Joanna Moan Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:45 am

The Edsitement lesson plan is very comprehensive and if I were to teach the wife of Bath I would certainly use it as a starting point.

I think it is important to understand how to read Middle English with the correct pronunciation before delving into the text. I studied the prologue for A level and I cannot remember discussing pronunciation although we did read the text aloud as a class as best we could. The information online teaching you to talk in Middle English is useful but I would condense it into one worksheet, this would make it easier to refer to and use as an aid when reading the text. It may also be fun to record pupils reading the text, this way any stumbling or pausing could be edited out.

A useful starter for looking at pronunciation would be to play Bill Bailey’s Pub Joke in the style of Geoffrey Chaucer to the class and ask them to identify why it sounds strange? And what is different about the language he uses? The pupils should pick up on the stressed ‘e’ sound at the end of words, language used that is less common now, inflexions now absent form speech like ‘eth’, and more. You can have a look at it on you tube with this address https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWi7p9xj83I